top of page

Accepting my Acceptance to a Community College


A year ago, when I was a high school senior I got accepted to a community college. It wasn't until they accepted me, that I accepted that the community college was going to be my school for the next two years. My senior year of high school was tough because I didn’t know where I wanted to go to college. I went to a catholic high school and ever since my freshman year, we were told how important it was for all of us to attend college right after high school.

I had no idea where I wanted to go. I didn’t have that dream school where I saw myself for the next four years. By October everyone was starting their college applications and so was I. The only difference was that I didn’t have a true interest in attending any of the schools I was applying for. By the beginning of November, I had decided to apply to only three schools and apply by the general deadline, but that didn't last long.

Click for photo info.

I had completed one application before I realized I wanted to go to a school where I felt comfortable to be at. I didn’t want to go to a community college, but sooner that later I realized that it was a better decision for me to attend a community college. By the start of my second semester of senior year, I became comfortable telling others where I was going to college. A Community College!

Do you remember when you were a senior in high school and everyone asked: “what college are you going to next year?” I wasn’t ashamed to say that I was going to a community college anymore. I learned a lot about how to overcome my doubts and not let what others say to make my college decisions.

Everyone posted online the schools they got into, yea I felt left out, but at the same time, I knew that I didn't have to deal with it. I already knew where I was going and I didn't have to deal with so much stress regarding all my college applications and whether I would be accepted or not.

If you're a high school senior or community college student don't let what others say to keep you from making your decision of what school to attend next. The school only becomes a great experience depending on how you chose to get that college experience. I have done so much to enjoy college and as a second-semester community college student, I have made so many memories that I never thought would happen back in high school.

Disclaimer: The image is an online source, I did not apply to the University of Cambridge

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
bottom of page